Viber has introduced “secret messages”, the self-destructing messages which disappear automatically after a set time.
The messaging app is giving its users the ability to select which conversations, photos and videos stay in the archive and which to be deleted from recipient’s phone. This feature is a lot like ephemeral stories of Snapchat and Instagram, which are soon going to be launched on Facebook as well. The Viber blog update reads,
Make your conversations more meaningful by choosing what stays and what goes. Secret messages give you the ability to decide when the photos and videos you send will disappear from your conversation and, in doing so, let you decide what should and shouldn’t be a permanent part of your conversation history.
Some things are meant to be seen once and then never again. When you send a secret message, it can be viewed exactly one time and, maybe more importantly, it can’t be shown to anyone else afterward.
How to send “secret messages”?
It’s very simply to send a secret message. Just select a a picture or video, set a time-limit 1, 3, 7, or 10 seconds and hit send. Once the receiver opens the media, the secret message will be visible for the set duration and then it will disappear, without a trace.